Municipality of Almeria


Almeria is one of the eight (8) municipalities comprising Biliran Province. It is situated in the northwestern part of Biliran Island. Its geographic location has coordinates of 12425’E latitude and 11°40’N longitude.  It is located eight (8) kilometers north of Naval, the capital town of the province. The town is situated at the mouth of Biliran Strait and faces the Visayan Sea. It is bound on the east by the town of Culaba and on the north by the town of Kawayan.

The Poblacion is located near the seashore. The eastern part is bounded by rice fields up to the Bagumbong River, the north and south area bounded by rolling hills and mountains.  It is traversed by a national road and its distance from Tacloban City, the regional center, is 128 kilometers. Almeria occupies a total land area of 6,550 hectares which is about 12% of the province’s land area. Among the municipalities of Biliran, Almeria ranks 5 in terms of land area.  Cadastral records at the Municipal Assessor’s Office placed a total of 3,236.39 hectares as A&D, the remaining 3,313.61 hectares is timberland.

Demographic Features

Population Trend

Land Area6,549 Has.
Forest Land 3,312.6089 Has.
Agricultural Land3,246.048 Has.
Commercial Land618.044 Has.
Residential Land 265,0116 Has.
Swamp and Marshes14.36 Has.
Population16,495 (2010 Census of Population)
No. of Households3,335
Population Density2.20 Has/person
Birth rate .74%
Death rate .57%
Morbidity Rate30.62%
Mortality Rate .57%
Literacy Rate92.64%
Major Bodies of WaterBagongbong, Badyang, Iyusan & Guiso river
Fishing groundMunicipal Sea waters along Biliran Strait
Annual Fish Production459.13 MT
Climate Wet and Dry Season
Water Supply Spring
Power Source Transco
Transportation FacilitiesBuses, Jeepney, Motorcycles, Habal-habal
Communication Facilities Televisions, mobilephones


Hon. Dominador O. Agajan
Hon. Henry O. Quijano

SB Members:
Hon. Rebecca M. Salloman
Hon. Maria B. Sale
Hon. Amelita V. Morillo
Hon. Rosalina L. Quijano
Hon. Anna Liza A. Fernando
Hon. Leonardo A. Morillo
Hon. Ronilo C. Barrina
Hon. Jovito A. dela Pena

Hon. Robinson C. Atibula
ABC President
Mr. Noel A. Maceda
SB Secretary

Department Heads:

Ms. Daisy S. Caparro
Municipal Treasurer
Ms. Marilyn S. Jaculbe
Municipal Accountant
Mr. Allan E. Jadulco, MPA
Municipal Assessor
Ms. Lydia A. Bernal
Municipal Budget Officer
Ms. Chessa S. Lumbaca, MPM
Municipal Planning Dev’t. Coordinator
Dr. Evelyn N. Garcia, M.D.
Municipal Health Officer
Ms. Estrellita L. Santolorin
Municipal Civil Registrar
Engr. Rhine A. Atibula
Ms. Rizalina A. Gonzales
Municipal Social Welfare Officer
Ms. Eufemia G. Mecaydor
Municipal Agricultural Officer
Ms. Lavella Leila N. Garbo
Administrative Officer
Mr. Jose A. Mari
Mr. Dexter C. Narrido
PSI Nonito G. Zuasula
PNP Chief
Mr. Rocleo Plecerda
District Supervisor
Ms. Janice M. Caparro
Internal Revenue Collector
Ms. Lorena M. Madeja
Municipal Election Officer
SFO3 Joseph Raymund C. Arendayen
Municipal Fire Officer

CONTACT: 09266876841/09176279199